Nothing is What it Seems – The Illusionist Locket

8 07 2009

For my 30th birthday, Dan gave me one of the most unique and thoughtful gifts I’ve ever received: an Illusionist locket.

For those of you who are not familiar with the Illusionist locket or the movie, The Illusionist tells the story of Eisenheim, a magician in turn of the century Vienna, who uses his abilities to secure the love of a woman far above his social standing.  There is a scene in the movie where Eisenheim gives his sweetheart a locket that is shaped like an oval.  With a single twist, the locket is then heart shaped. Upon opening this heart, a small photo of Eisenheim was revealed, with no folds, tears, or scratches visible.

The Illusionist locket that Dan presented to me is very similar to the movie locket; it starts as an oval, with a single twist it turns into a heart, and the photo enclosed does not have any tears, splits, or folds.  The locket I received is very unique as it doesn’t hold just one photo – it holds two different photos!  What a completely fitting gift from my magician!  A magic trick that reminds me of Dan, and two photos enclosed within it – one of James and one of Grace!

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Actions

Information

10 responses

8 07 2009
Strixaluco

How cool! I love that movie.

8 07 2009
crankypants

That is really cool! I still have not seen that movie. I had a feeling looking at the first photo that it had to hold more than one picture!
Happy belated birthday!

8 07 2009
Jamie

First, Happy Birthday! Second..that locket is so cool and the sweetest birthday gift I've ever seen. Way to go Dan!

8 07 2009
Wasabi Prime

what a beautiful and thoughtful gift!

8 07 2009
Echinodermata

Wow, I didn't know you could purchase something like that! I loved that movie.

8 07 2009
Kat the Acrobat

If you haven't seen the movie, it's worth Netflixing. I liked it better than the Prestige…

8 07 2009
Kat the Acrobat

Thanks all for the birthday wishes! :D The locket is pretty sweet – I'm still in awe that someone figured out a way to make the movie locket real!

11 07 2009
Usagi

OMG, I had just watched the movie and was telling Jaime that I wanted one and he didn't think they could really make one.That is awesome and beautiful.

12 07 2009
Kat the Acrobat

I know! I didn't think so either! The guy who actually figured out how to make is pretty awesome!

25 05 2010
Tim

aha,it's cool.I made another one just like the one in the film.http://www.olocket.com/?p=14

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

